Tags

,


What’s your favorite meal of the day?

Are you a breakfast person? Or another mealtime person? Come to think of it, I don’t ever remember anyone telling me they were a lunch person, or a dinner person.. huh. In fact, a common used pitch for restaurants is that they serve breakfast all day. Why do we love our breakfast? Maybe it’s because breakfast is the first meal of the day and it’s what we look forward to after getting out of bed. Or not getting out of bed 🙂

These days I’m loving me some breakfast. I didn’t used to like it, but times sure have changed. Best part is, I’m not that picky about it, like I am with most other things. This morning I had some cereal, tea and lemon water. Simple, speedy and satisfying, my kind of meal.

On the weekends I like to go a little crazy and make an egg sandwich. A fried egg sandwich. With some combination of shallots, spinach or arugula, tomatoes, and hopefully some deli meat and cheese if I have it. So good. Seriously. For me, the shallots really make the dish, but if you aren’t into that sort of thing, I’ve been told (by my non shallot eating husband) that it is still a quite tasty meal.

I really like shallots.

And a runny yoke but cooked white. None of that slimy uncooked white for me! To accomplish this I just cover the egg with a lid for a few minutes.

Make sure to toast the bread before you start the egg, and part way remember to add the cheese. Go get that melty magic.

One of the best things about a recipe like this, if it can even be called a recipe, is that anything goes. Switch up the ingredients any way you like. Most of us have bread and eggs on hand, this is just an easy way to brighten plain old fried egg and toast.

I even eat it for dinner.

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

Fancy Egg Sandwich

1 slice bread, toasted

1 egg

cheese, sliced

shallots, sliced

1 tsp. extra virgin olive oil

Toast the bread with the shallots. Fry an egg in it some extra virgin olive oil. Layer toast with cheese, top with egg. Use a fork and knife. Enjoy!

~l

