Tags

,


Most households have their own staples. Those special certain foods you’ve gotta have on hand. You probably never run out and may even be able to live off of your supply for a few months, should it ever come to that sort of thing.

And then there are luxury items that you only buy on a special occasion. Holidays, Birthdays.. Paydays! What sets your staples and luxuries apart? For me it’s usually the price, the indulgence factor, or just the seasonality of the item. My luxury buys include fancy cheese and salami, expensive wine, or some grass-fed filet mignon. yum. Expensive and rich. both in flavor and price. haha. Hummus used to be on the luxury half of my list, mainly due to the short half-life it has in our home. One of those little 7 oz. containers for $3-6 can be demolished by my husband, in one sitting, no problem. Okay. I help out too, but still it gets a little pricey.

This dilemma poses quite a question: How can I have my cake and eat it too? How can I eat loads of hummus and not spend so much money?

Solution: Make it myself!

Make all the flavors I want, and I control the amount of fat. My pants thank me. You might too!

Believe me, this is super duper easy. It takes aΒ bit of effort, if you consider boiling beans effort, and a moderate amount of time, that is again if you are boiling beans. If you want to use canned beans, this really would be super de duper easy. But I like a challenge, and I was all out of canned chickpeas πŸ™‚

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

Math Wizard: Without the additions, this hummus totaled less than $4.00 with a 24 oz. yield. That is ($0.16/oz) versus store-bought (~$0.60/oz). More than 3x cheaper!

Homemade Hummus

1 c. dried chickpeas

3-6 garlic cloves

1 lemon zest and juice

3-4 Tbsp tahini

1 tsp salt

1/2-1 c. cooking liquid

2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Optional** Flavor your hummus naturally! A few ideas: jalapeno, olives, roasted red peppers, roasted garlic, cilantro, or pine nuts (a bit pricey but they are good).

Soak the chickpeas overnight, be sure to take out any odd-looking ones. Drain, add new water and boil the chickpeas until tender (45 mins-1 hr). You may have to add more water during the process, it’s okay, don’t worry, be happy πŸ™‚ I reckon you could also do this step in a pressure cooker, greatly reducing the cooking time. Drain the beans and reserve a cup or so of the cooking liquid. Combine the cooked beans with the rest of the ingredients in a your strongest blender and mix away. I suggest only adding 3 Tbsp of tahini and doing a taste test. You can always add more. Scrape down the sides and add the cooking liquid until smooth. This may take a few times of scraping and a couple mins of blending. EnjoyΒ with veggies, on pita, on a salad, sandwich or any other way you like!

~l

