Tags

, ,


Happy Saturday y’all, got anything fun planned? I have a huge list to tackle but first I wanted to share with you something wonderfully easy, smart, fabulously fancy and delicious all at the same time. Excited?

Introducing kalamata olive goat cheese spread! 10$ for a tiny package at the store, but if you do it yourself you save half the money and have a lot more cheese. This is the kind of cheese I imagine they eat in France on a regular basis, or one you might have at a Food and Wine cheese show. Yes, that level. Best part is, its fancy without all the fuss.

 

While I don’t live in France, I do shop at Whole Foods sometimes and it’s my all-time-fav grocery store, except for that expensive part. Every time I go there is a specific route I like to take to get my goods. Not a route to the store, but a route in the store 🙂 I have to make sure I pass by all my favorites like the specialty foods section because that’s where they hide all the free samples! Yay for samples! Anyway that’s where I first tasted this cheese. And then immediately when home to make it.

Easy peasy. Just take the goat cheese, add your flavors, and mash together. Taaa Da!

Don’t care for kalamata olives? Just use black olives. Either way I’d give this a go. This spread is great on crackers, but you could go a little crazy and crumble it on salad or smear it on a sandwich. Just saying.

Tangy and creamy, this spread offers a unique flavor that just keeps you coming back. Serve as an appetizer at your next dinner party or make a batch just to snack on during the week.

Enjoy!

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

Olive Goat Cheese Spread

(serves 4 appetizer style)

15-20 kalamata olives, pitted and chopped

4 oz goat cheese

sea salt, sprinkle (very little, or leave out)

pepper, few grinds

extra virgin olive oil, drizzle

crackers

Put the goat cheese into a bowl (I just used the serving bowl, all about less clean up). Add the chopped olives. Sprinkle in a little, very little, salt (olives and cheese are quite salty…) and then some cracked pepper and a drizzle of evoo. Mash with a fork to combine.

Serve with crackers, celery and carrots, on a salad or sandwich. No need to be fancy to eat the fancy cheese 🙂

~l

