Tags

, , ,


Well Hello (Jerry Seinfeld style)

Great show.

I love that show.

I love cookies. and I love green tea. hence the title.

Here is my second attempt at baking on the blog, and I must say I am quite satisfied with the result, I hope you are as well.

Please enjoy these cookies with some tea. Tea? What’s so great about tea? Well let me tell you.

Tea has become my lifesaver. Specifically, herba mate green tea with peppermint (generic brand from Whole Foods). I love love love this tea, it is delicious, healthy, cheap and easy. In that order, ha, but really. It taste amazing all on it’s own. No need for added sugar, lemon or cream. I still love coffee, and drink it on occasion, but tea is my new go-to caffeine fix. Truth be told, drinking coffee every morning became such a hassle. Partially because I’m lazy and don’t like to clean out the machine right away… also boiling water makes no mess at all. So I opt for tea. And now instead of making sure I have cream and sugar on hand, all I need is my $3.99/40 bags of good-for-me tea. Plus the added bonus of more money in my wallet.

Would you try drinking tea? What if you thought of how GOOD it is for you! Health benefits up the wazoo in this here green tea. Green tea is full of antioxidants, and has strong cancer fighting properties and has been linked to lowering risks of heart disease, the number one killer in America.

Did I mention the flavor? Look, I’m all about being healthy, but nobody puts my palate in the corner! So really, what is the sacrifice here? Change habits is hard. But it’s good for your brain to have change, and for your body to have green tea.

Tea goes great with cookies.

Or enjoy it with bulgur and an egg for breakfast.

Or some cookies:)

I read about these cookies in a blog post reviewing Gwyneth’s new cookbook. I must confess I became a fan of her website, GOOP a while ago, and even though I want to hate her for all her perfection, I’d rather be a fan and enjoy the recipes she shares and advice she gives.

These cookies call for barley flour and I can’t tell you how excited I was to see that. I don’t know what it is, but I have been dying to find an excuse to buy those cool flours I see in the cute little bags at the store. It’s been a while since I’ve baked, I kind of gave it up because I don’t quite yet have the portion control concept when it comes to sweets. I’ve only ever cooked with AP flour or cake flour, and my treats end up making me feel bloated and gross. Could this be the solution?

This recipe was much easier to make than mine are. I like it a lot. Instead of using almonds, I went half and half with some pistachios and walnuts, baklava style. I chose to forgo the jam at the baking step, but I later found myself topping many of these babies with some raspberry preserves. You wouldn’t think it, but the flavor along with it’s cool, smooth texture really compliments the cookie. Maybe you would think it. They also go great with tea, very biscotti like with a softer bite. Delicious.

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

Perfect Tea Cookies

Inspired by Gwyneth Paltrow‘s recipe

2 c. barley flour

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp. salt

3/4 c. pistachios, shelled

3/4 c. walnuts, whole and halves

1/2 c. maple syrup

1/2 c. canola oil

Preheat oven to 325°

Mix the dry ingredients (flour, cinnamon, salt, nuts) in big-ish bowl. Add syrup and oil, stir until combined. Hands work well here. Make into 1-inch balls, squares, or pineapple shaped, whatever suits your mood. Bake until golden, about 20 mins.

Enjoy solo or with some of your favorite jam. Don’t forget the tea!

~l

