Tags

, , ,

On the way home from work last night I was thinking about dinner. Obviously. Let me clarify, I was thinking of what to make for dinner. I will admit this is not an everyday occurrence, as I am a blessed woman with a husband that can cook, and will cook quite often, but it doesn’t seem to stop my ever recipe pondering mind.

You see I have these anchovies I bought a while back to make a spectacular caesar salad. Unfortunately the salad is yet to be made, but something else outta this world has been created!

Anchovy Tomato Pasta.

Note to self: when you type ‘sardines and tomato’ into Google, it’s not going to find a recipe for anchovies.

 

 

Anchovies, sardines. Ah. Oops. I do these sort of things sometimes.

I also get orange and yellow mixed up. Only expressively. Not sure why. Maybe I should get it checked out. Na, I’m sure it’s no big deal. Till it spreads to the other colors.

Back to the sardines, no anchovies.

Anchovies.

Their subtle flavor adds depth to this dish. The tomatoes add freshness. Red pepper flakes bring some spice. Garlic knocks it outta the park! Overall, very very good combo.

Did I mention I used whole wheat pasta? Whole wheat pasta is a staple in our home and I can’t even tell the difference anymore. It may take a few times for you to get used to it but whole wheat pasta is a fabulous way to get some whole grains, an extra boost of protein and probably most important is the added fiber benefit. Eating foods high in fiber help you feel full faster and longer, and diets in high fiber are also associated with weight loss, so who’s stopping you?! Get your whole wheat pasta on!

Lui devoured it with a spoon, I thought he was finishing ice cream. Preeeeety sure I’ll be making this again!

Enjoy!

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

Anchovy Tomato Pasta

4 anchovy fillets, canned, finely chopped

2 tomatoes

3-4 garlic cloves, finely chopped

Extra virgin olive oil

whole wheat pasta, 1/2 lb

red pepper flakes, optional

Boil water, add salt and cook pasta according to package. In another large pan, heat oil and add garlic, anchovies and red pepper flakes. Saute under medium-low (more low) heat, try not to brown the garlic too much. For the tomatoes (you could used canned), I had 2 fresh tomatoes on hand so I tossed them in the food processor and pulsed until salsa like texture. Pour this into the pan, juices and all. Sprinkle in some salt and pepper and about half a cup of pasta water. Simmer for about 20 minutes.

This recipe has the pasta cooked before the sauce, no fear, just drain the pasta and coat it in a lil bit o butta, or drizzle of oil (to prevent sticking) and wait until the sauce is ready. Worked out just fine, no sticky noodles round here.

Toss the pasta with the sauce. Serve immediately.

~l

