Tags

, ,

Happy Friday!

I don’t know about you but I look forward to Friday all week. Weekdays I try to keep my meals healthy, skip most desserts, no spirited beverages and close down the kitchen by 8:00pm. On the weekend all that flies out the window and we party!

And by party I mean we eat well with few restrictions. That does not mean I let myself go, I used to do this and it’s no fun spending all week working off the extra calories from the weekend. Why must eating well mean eating high calorie, high sugar, high fat foods? Well it doesn’t, at least not all the time. 🙂

And that is why I’m bringing you the perfect eating well side salad dressing that’s sure to lighten up your weekend in between all those Saturday morning pancakes (ohh that sounds good..) and grilled burgers with fries.

Salad dressing? Yes. Salad dressing. Homemade, naturally low-fat, ready in a flash salad dressing. My favorite way to eat salad is a mix of spinach/arugula/spicy greens dressed in a lite mustard vinaigrette siting next to a plateful of food. I’m not really a salad as my entire meal sort of gal, unless it’s a chicken ceasar salad with hunks of garlic bread, but even that is a bit rich and I usually end up feeling more sick than satisfied.

For dinner last night we only had rice for one person. Seeing as how I never ate rice growing up and my husband can not imagine a day without rice the serving was all his. But what was I to eat with my Italian Fried Chicken? A salad of course. No salad dressing on hand? No problem. And it was.

Here is it.

Enjoy!

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

Homemade Mustard Vinaigrette

1/2 tsp whole grain mustard

1/2 tsp Dijon mustard

1/2 tsp honey

1 Tbsp red wine vinegar

1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

salt and pepper

The bottom of the serving bowl is where I tend to make my dressings, that way I can just throw in the greens and gently tossed until everything is evenly coated, plus easy clean up. First combine the mustards and honey, then mix in the vinegar. While whisking with a fork, drizzle in the oil until fully combined. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Enjoy alone on some greens or add veggies, chickpeas, or some chicken for a complete meal.

~l

