Tags

, , , , , ,

Growing up there was a salad that my mom always used to make for my dad. I think it was supposed to be for all of us but he got his hands on it first and it somehow managed to disappear. It was a single layer of tomatoes, onions and green pepper or sometimes cucumber covered in Italian dressing. Simple and fabulous.

As we got older we started having two salads on the table, one for my dad and one for the rest of us, things just worked out better this way πŸ™‚ I think what I’m really saying here is, dad, you’ve got great taste. This salad is outstanding!


Great ingredients make a great dish. Vine-ripened tomatoes, creamy avocado, pungent onions (my fav!) dressed in a liteΒ vinaigrette that reminds you of those packaged Italian dressings you had as a kid.

I’m hanging out with the fam next week and I can’t wait! Great food, laughter (and proly tears) plus great people make for a great time!

What do you like to do with your fam?

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

Tomato Onion Avocado Salad

serves 2

1 med/large tomato

1 avocado

Onion slices

Italian Dressing

2 Tbsp red wine vinegar

2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

2 Tbsp fresh herbs chopped (basil, thyme, oregano)

1/2 tsp salt

1 garlic clove, smashed

freshly cracked black pepper

Make the dressing first, combining all the ingredients and set aside. Using a sharp knife, thinly slice the onion, toss into dressing to mellow out. Slice avocado (or cut into chunks) and tomato and add to dressing. Let everything sit for about 20 minutes then enjoy! (Don’t forget to remove the garlic prior to serving, or not, it is a super food after all!)

~l

