Tags

, ,

Happy Monday y’all! Sorry for the hiatus, I got the stomach flu a few days back and that doesn’t seem to mesh well with cooking, eating or even thinking about food. Getting sick on vacation is no good, but it was sure nice to have two nurses and a paramedic take care of me, not to mention all the love I got from the rest of my fam. I was better in a day in a half, just in time to leave Michigan and return to Cali. Boo! Now I’m just trying to get myself back into the swing of things, like waking up everyday and going to work. Boy is it hard coming back from vacation. I want a new job where I don’t have to work. Yes, that’s it. No more working. Don’t worry you can still pay me. 🙂

Cooking is never work though. And when my tummy is empty of nasty viruses, eating is one of my fav activities to do! Dragging yourself outta bed isn’t so bad when you have a tall glass of freshly juiced organic fruit and veggies waiting for you. The only thing missing here is a straw, (I heart straws) they making drinking so fun!

After finishing this beet, carrot, kale, broccoli, celery, orange juice, I felt like a new woman! One week without my juicing fix was tough, luckily I got a husband who is more addicted than me who went to Whole Foods at 7 am this morning to load up on some fresh juicing foods for the week. We are out of everything, another complication of going out of town, good thing my freezer and pantry planned ahead.

A quick boil of some water and the edamame and quinoa practically made themselves. Don’t you love it when that happens. 🙂

This salad looked a bit boring so I though why not whip up that tahini dressing I saw in Real Simple magazine. Oh magazine where did you go?

Five unsuccessful minutes later, I resorted to my memory and came up with this little concoction. I’m going to misplace things more often. This dressing is the perfect blend of creamy tahini and fresh lemon with a little kick from the raw shallot, and I’m pretty sure that was not in the original recipe.

Add this little number to any type of salad, I just had quinoa with edamame and a handful of arugula, but you could leave out the grain and use it to dress a bean salad, or as a dip for veggies. The tahini adds an usual flavor that gets people thinking, what’s in this? it’s my new go to secret ingredient, give it a try!

What’s your secret ingredient?

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

homemade tahini dressing

1 Tbsp tahini

1 shallot

1 lemon, juiced

1 tsp honey

1 tsp red wine vinegar

salt and pepper

First chop the shallot in the food processor, then add the rest of the ingredients and mix until combined. Dress anything and everything with the creamy goodness!

Enjoy!

~l

