Tags

, ,

As I mentioned yesterday, we don’t have much food. Coming back from vacation has that effect, and in my case the after effect of laziness, thus the reason we still have no food: I just plain don’t want to go to the store. Can’t we just live off the food in the pantry and freezer for the week? Sure, why not.

There’s a total of 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts and one bone-in skin-on chicken breast, one bag of wontons, plus some edamame and peas in the freezer. In the pantry we have about 8 lbs of a 10 lb bag of brown rice left and at least one bag of Bulgar, grains, check. Rice and chicken, sounds kinda boring, but not in my kitchen!

Last night my husband did wonders with one chicken breast. Slicing it up into 8 little tenders and crisp frying them made it seem we had much more than we did, tricking both my mind and belly, totally into that sort of thing. He patiently waited 45 mins as the brown and wild rice combo did it’s magic and then cleverly embellished it with cute little green peas. A complete meal with protein, grains and a hint of green veggies. But not the most blogworthy dish. Well shoot. How can I fix this?

What about making the best ever homemade honey mustard sauce? Yes that will do. The tahini dressing I made yesterday was pretty much non-existent when I came home from work, but the food processor still had remnants of at least a tablespoon or two and since my mom taught me not to waste anything I just added all honey mustard ingredients to the tahini dressing processor and this baby was born!

This is probably one of the best sauces I have made. For real. It’s pretty close to the running ranch dressing they always have at Coney Island restaurants that swear I could drink, so good. Best part is, this was incredibly easy and everything was on hand. Mustard, honey, dijon mustard, vinegar and tahini did the trick for me. I know tahini isn’t a common staple in the pantry, but since I know you’re dying to make your own hummus, here is a way to use up the rest of the jar that you bought and has been sitting in your cupboard ever since.

Dunk.

Take a bite.

Who are we kidding, submerge.

Take another bite.

Repeat.

What’s your favorite way to snaz up a meal? 

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

homemade honey mustard sauce

1 tsp honey

1 tsp yellow mustard

1 tsp whole grain dijon mustard

1 Tbsp tahini

1 Tbsp red wine vinegar

1/4 tsp salt

pepper

Everyone goes into the pool processor. Pulse until combined. Use this as a dressing for salads, a dip for pretzels, or a spectacular sauce for crispy chicken tenders!

Enjoy!

~l

