Tags

, , , ,

Ahh back to work. Isn’t it tough getting back into the routine after just 3 short days out?

We did a lot of moving, cleaning and cooking over the break. It was delightful. Really. After years of living in filth in college I definitely appreciate living in a clean home. Ah the things we did when we were young. 

Now that I’m all grown up I wanted to share a grown up recipe with you. Not too sure what makes lasagna all grown up to me, but I feel it, just like how chicken fingers are a kid food. Catch my drift? I also associate colors with numbers, like 1 with red, 2 with blue and 3 with yellow, seems logical but I’ve gotten a few funny looks. You giving me a funny look right now? That’s ok. Onto the lasagna.

This lasagna is an ode to my mom. She is the only person I know who puts cottage cheese (and not ricotta) in her lasagna and doesn’t apologize for it. I put it in cause she does and that’s that.

For the sauce I could use no other than the tomato, onion, butter sauce that’s been floating around the web for a bit, I found it last year on Smitten Kitchen and haven’t made another since.

In a separate pan I seared organic grass fed ground beef with spices, herbs and those tomato sauce cooked onions.

Everything layered with oven ready noodles and mozzarella cheese. Then into the oven until golden bubbly.

I have say, I almost didn’t share this recipe with you because I don’t care too much for the pictures. But then I realized that was selfish and I HAD to share this recipe with you, no matter what shame it may bring me as a photographer gal who likes to take pictures of her food.

That’s because for a first-timer-no-recipe-lasagna this sucker turned out pretty pretty pretty good.

Let’s give it to the sauce. That buttery goodness made it’s way into each and every cheesy meaty crevice and melted into every bite. Sublime.

I think I’m gonna have some for breakfast.

Happy short week!

~l

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

lasagna

serves 8

Yield from batch of tomato, onion, butter sauce

1 lb. organic grass fed ground beef

1/4-1/2 tsp cumin

1/4-1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp sweet paprika

pinch red pepper flakes

1/2-1 tsp salt

freshly ground black pepper

2 Tbsp fresh oregano, chopped

1 Tbsp fresh thyme, chopped

1 tsp fresh rosemary chopped

12-16 oven ready lasagna pasta sheets

Large mozzarella ball, sliced

Small container small curd cottage cheese

1 egg

Salt

Pepper

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Begin by making the sauce, check out this recipe. After that’s about 3/4 of the way done, start searing the meat on medium with the spices and half of the oregano. Keep this on a lower temperature, you want it to be mostly cooked, but not all dried out. In the cottage cheese container add an egg, salt and pepper and the rest of the oregano, fork whisk together trying not to spill any over the edges. Slice up the cheese and get out the lasagna sheets. Start layering. I put a thin layer of the sauce on the bottom, then the sheets, cottage cheese, sauce, mozzarella, sheets, sauce, cottage, mozzarella, sheets, sauce, cottage, mozzarella.

Bake at 375 for at about 45 mins, then let sit to rest for at least 20 before serving to avoid lasagna soup. If you’re into that sorta thing (I totally am!) dive in as soon as your mouth can handle the heat.

Enjoy!

