Tags

, , ,

I swear I’ve wanted to make an entire chicken for about a quadrillion days now. Day quadrillion and one, I wait no longer.

Why the wait? Oh cause I’m a procrastinator. Nice to meet you.

Even something I want to do, I don’t always get around to. I think that really means I don’t want it as much as I say, which is probably true… but I really want to be skinny… yeah wanting doesn’t get me too far.

But boy am I glad I finally laced up my bootstraps and got this bun chicken in the oven.

This pollo asado was one sure winner dinner. In between bites of food all I could make out was “so good” from the husband’s overflowing mouth, jk, he is the proper one, truth: my mouth was too full to come close to talking.

As usual this spectacular dish was way too easy. A few steps, a few hours apart, with very little hands on time, I’d like to think this would be a helping hand for anyone trying to feed a household. Flavorful, but not spicy, with endless options for leftovers like tacos, quesadillas, sandwiches, and salads, or take a bite outta a drumstick. Just for the pleasure.

Sounds like a crowd pleaser to me!

Oh yeah, don’t forget the juice. Dip every last bit of chicken into this finger licking, lip smacking, can’t get enough dripping sauce. I won’t tell if you need a spoon.

While you’re chowing down be sure to check out the new additions to thetalkingkitchen, two new pages, learn more about me (About) and check out my fav blogs (Read)!

~l

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

roasted chicken: pollo asado style

3-4 lb free range chicken, cleaned with giblets removed

1/4 c. carne asada spice blend

1-2 Tbsp salt

Freshly ground black pepper

1 lemon

1 onion

1 head garlic

1 can beer

Overnight marinating makes this chicken that much better, I wouldn’t skip this step. Place the cleaned and dried chicken into a roasting pan. Drench in beer, inside, outside, massaged into all the legs and wings. Next rub in all the spices, salt and pepper. Cover with plastic wrap and set in the fridge overnight.

In the morning, flip over the chicken and let continue to marinate until cooking time. Remove from fridge at least 30-60 minutes before baking so it can come to room temperature.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Pour off 98% of the marinate, leaving a super thin layer at the bottom of the pan. Add remaining spices/salt if any, or just give it a quick sprinkle before going into the oven. Slice lemon, squeeze juice all over chicken and put lemon with onion and garlic into the cavity of the chicken. Lemon is key. Something amazing happens to it in the oven and is necessary for the complete flavor of the dish. Also drizzle a little extra virgin olive oil, just for some good fat. Tightly cover with foil and bake in oven for at least 1 1/2 hours, I did 1 hour and 40 minutes. Next remove the foil and crank up the heat to 375 or 400 degrees and bake for an additional 10-15 minutes to get the breasts golden brown.

Remove from oven and restrain yourself because this baby must rest at least 30 minutes before carving into it.

Serve with sauce that created itself at the bottom of the pan. I thought of shredding all the meat and letting it soak up even more of the juice, but I’m impatient. Let me know what you think!

Enjoy!

