Tags

, ,

wowsa. my apartment (in a house) smells AMAZING! If this smellivision thing really takes off, I might have something going on. you would think grandma was in town making her famous cinnamon sugar rolls for Christmas. Only she’s not. Instead you have an attempt to play switcharoo with a few ingredients in a previous successful bread recipe, and hope for success. Making your house smell like a pastry shop counts as a success in my book. I want to bottle this stuff up and sell it…perhaps at the farmers market!

I’ve heard baking is sort of a science where everything must be precisely measured to get it just right. If you don’t follow this hard and fast run you’ll for sure end up with a huge disaster, like a face explosion resulting in burnt off eyebrows. Okay, maybe not that extreme but what’s all this intimidation with baking. Does baking think she is better and smarter than the rest of us? Well, listen here baking, I don’t care what you say, I’ll do things my way, you do things yours, and we’ll see who wins in the end. (winner: taste buds) Now, I’m not saying don’t measure, and of course all ingredients shouldn’t be “eye-balled,” but is it really super duper important? Na. At least not enough to scare you away from baking what your heart desires.

In baking trial and error, most errors still taste good.

I call this a success. It was delicious. Really really good. Did I mention it’s whole wheat. 100% ladies and gentleman. It’s official, I’m a whole wheat baker. Feels good. Give it a go!

~l

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

cinnamon sugar raisin bread

Inspired by Monet’s recipe

Dry

2 c. whole wheat pastry flour

1 c. raw sugar, save some for the topping

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

3 tsp cinnamon

Wet

1 egg

~ 1/4 c. cream

~ 1/4 c. skim milk

6 T unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1/3 c. sour cream

capful of vanilla extract

Extras

1 c. nuts, optional

cinnamon sugar topping

Preheat oven to 350 °

Line bread pans with butter or nonstick spray, this recipe makes 4 mini loafs or one big loaf.

In one bowl mix the dry ingredients, (keep 1/4 c. sugar to sprinkle on top), in another bowl mix the wet ingredients. Add the dry ingredients to the wet in parts, about 1/2 c. at a time, until combined. Stir in the extras.

Bake until golden, my oven delivered this this baby after about 55 mins. 30 mins in I added the rest of the sugar as a topping, but you could add this sooner, it never really set in the bread as I had hoped. Another killer idea is to make butter sugar cinnamon crumbles to put on top, coffeecake-esque.

Check doneness with a sharp utensil.

Let cool on an iron rack until able to remove from pan(s). I think you are to let it sit some more time to cool… good luck with that.

I think I’ll be making quite a few more versions of this sour cream bread in my time!

Any good flavor suggestions?

I think lemon poppyseed is next on my list!

Enjoy!

