Tags

, , , , , ,


What to do with figs?

I found myself googling this after unloading all my groceries this weekend and realizing I had absolutely no idea what to do with the beautifully cute, plump figs I bought.

A few recipes came up mostly involving goat cheese or making them into a jam, all of which I’m sure would be amazing, but I wanted something faster. A salad?! What could be easier, a little dicing ‘n slicing and it practically makes itself.

Tossed in some red bell pepper for a lil sweetness and crunch, a nice compliment to the delicate fig flavor and a def new fav salad topper! For the dressing I knocked back a quick honey mustard vinaigrette and dressed a bowl full of baby spinach. Easy peasy.

Kinda boring? Ah shoot, it is. Well how about this: lets grab that day old bread and some garlic (ooooh) and transform this baby into a fig panzanella salad!

To the leftover salad dressing, chopped tomatoes, bell pepper and shallots, I added more tomato, more figs, fresh oregano, feta, capers, red onion and of course garlic toasted day old bread.

An unlikely combination due to the lack of classic panzanella ingredients, but this lauren panzanella is right up my alley. Who knew throwing a bunch of great flavors into a bowl would make magic.

Well it did.

I also love this salad cause it got me out of my cooking comfort zone of using the same ingredients over and over. Sometimes that happens, and it’s okay, but it’s nice to branch out every once in a while. Let my taste buds know there’s more out there to explore. Like figs!

Do you cook with the same ingredients or are you a cooking risk taker?

~l

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

fig panzanella

makes 2-3 side servings

1/2 red bell pepper, diced

2 roma tomatoes, seeded and cubed (cut into sixths)

1-2 ounces feta cheese, crumbled

2 Tbsp capers

hunk of day old bread, cubed

1/4 red onion, diced

4 figs, stem removed and quartered

2 tsp oregano, chopped

2 garlic cloves, finely diced

1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

sprinkle salt and pepper

honey mustard vinaigrette

1 Tbsp Dijon mustard

1 Tbsp honey

Juice 1 lemon

Capful apple cider vinegar

1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

sprinkle salt and pepper

Start by making the dressing in the serving bowl. Combine the mustard and honey, then add the vinegar and lemon. Once throughly mixed, stream in the oil to emulsify. Top it off with salt and pepper.

Next cube up the bread, toss with olive oil and garlic and bake at 400 degrees for about 5 minutes. Meanwhile dice up the tomatoes, bell pepper and onion and add to the dressing bowl with the capers, feta, figs and oregano. Top it off with toasted garlic bread and lightly toss together. Allow to sit together for about 5-10 minutes before serving.

Enjoy!

