Tags

, , , ,

Happy Saturday!

I really wanted to show you a recipe for short ribs today but that’s a little too much work for a Saturday. Instead, I’ll share with you another fabulously easy grill wonder and the recipe made me fall in love in eggplant. The ribs will have to wait until tomorrow… sneak peak alert:

Back to the eggplant.

I saw this recipe for eggplant bruschetta on Smitten Kitchen and even though I never buy eggplant I happen to have one on hand from a friend, and we happen to have the grill going… I know I have been yapping about grilling over and over but you understand, right? If you don’t have a grill,or grill pan, oven roasting also develops outstanding flavor in pretty much all foods. In fact, the original recipe calls for roasting. I try to be different.

I did not however substitute anything for the tomatoes. Come on, it’s bruschetta. I did use feta instead of ricotta, just because I didn’t want another trip to the store. And I used apple cider vinegar because I couldn’t find the red wine vinegar I had just bought… it was hiding behind the rice wine vinegar. I’m really good at looking for things.

Just a little choppity chop and onto the assembly.

Grilled eggplant.

Top ‘er off with the tomato ensemble and Voilá!

Oh by the way, the juice that forms from the tomatoes and dressing is amazing. I like to eat this with a spoon. There I said it. I’m more of a cut the eggplant and spoon over each bite the perfect amount of tomato bruschetta.

It’s a wonderful wonderful thing.

Have a great weekend!

Go Blue!

~l

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

grilled eggplant bruschetta adapted from Smitten Kitchen

serves 4-6 appetizers

1 eggplant, sliced

1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

sprinkle salt and pepper

topping

4-6 Roma tomatoes, diced

2 Tbsp capers, drained

2-3 ounces feta, crumbled

5 mint leaves, finely chopped

1/2 red onion, finely diced

2 tsp apple cider vinegar

1 tsp extra virgin olive oil

salt and pepper

Before grilling (or roasting) the eggplant, brush a bit of oil on each side and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Grill on each side for about 5 minutes. (for roasting recommendations check out Smitten’s recipe, I think it’s about 15-20 minutes.)

Meanwhile get to chopping and toss everything into a medium serving bowl. Add the vinegar, oil and pepper and gently stir to combine. Taste check for salt, with the capers and feta you may not need any.

Top eggplant with tomato mixture.

Don’t forget to use a spoon for the juices. 🙂

Enjoy!

