Tags

, , ,

I read the coolest thing today. It basically said, when you imagine giving a hug, the same centers in your brain are activated as if you really were experiencing a hug. Hugging also lowers blood pressure, boost immunity and releases the pleasure neurotransmitters in your brain.

I read it over on this new website I started checking out, Whole Living, on a post about Marci Shimoff’s new book. Now being the skeptic I am, and not seeing a PhD behind her name, I’m not sure what research was actually done to prove this, and if it was peer-reviewed and all that jazz, but it makes sense. Sometimes I feel like I just need a hug, and getting that hug really makes me feel better. Am I really just releasing neurotransmitters in my brain? Could I achieve the same results, as in feel as good as I do with a hug, without hugging at all? <– not too sure if the same centers of your brain are activated to the same extent imagining a hug as with real hugging, but it’s a nice idea.

I’d like to hug my food processor for finely chopping these veggies so well.

I’d like to hug this dutch oven, with a heat protective body suit, for creating these melt-with-the-touch-of-a-fork tender short ribs.

And I’d really want to hug my large sauce pan with which this saffron risotto was mastered. 

I feel better already.

I know I said I was going to share a short rib recipe but to be honest it’s not really share worthy. I don’t think I salted enough, and the meat was just too fatty. I was quite disappointed, it had smelled so good for 3 hours I was sure it was going to be great. Don’t get me wrong, it was good, just not great.

The risotto on the other hand was fabulous. I also learned the right a new, WAY easier method of cooking it. 

It involves using higher heat so the rice will actually cook, makes for very tasty risotto, not the crunchy risotto I’ve made in the past.

This may be a very dangerous thing unless I can learn a healthy grain risotto.. 

Gotta go do some cooking research!

Happy Sunday!

~l

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

saffron risotto

serves 4

1 3/4 c. arborio rice

6 c. chicken stock

2 Tbsp butter

1 shallot, minced

1/4 tsp saffron

1/2 tsp salt

1/3 c. white wine

1/2 c. Parmesan cheese, freshly grated

Start by bringing the chicken stock to a boil and then lower to a simmer. In a large saucepan heat 1 Tbsp butter on med-low, add the shallot and sauté for 2-3 minutes. Add the rice to the pan and toast for 3-4 minutes, thoroughly coating the rice. Add the white wine, and stir until almost evaporated. Sprinkle in saffron and salt. Increase heat to med-high and start by adding 1/2 c. chicken stock, stir until almost evaporated, continue to add 1/2 c. at a time, careful not to burn the rice. Once all the stock is added turn off heat and cover risotto for about 2 minutes. Stir in remaining butter and Parmesan cheese. Serve immediately.

Enjoy!

