Tags

, , ,

Well hello. Happy Tuesday!

Today the talking kitchen is bringing you a dual dish! The name in the title, petit four, is a French term referring to any pastry or confection, typically served following dinner with coffee. That about sums up these pistachio cupcake/muffins, in fact I will only call them pistachio petit four from now on. hehe I sound so French. They are the perfect after supper splurge.

Why, I’m sure you’re asking, are these called pistachio cupcake slash muffins? Well… they were intended to be cupcakes.. and I’m sure if you just add some baking powder you can fluff these into cupcakes… or serve as is, muffins with icing. Either way the flavor is pretty darn good in these pistachio cupcakes/muffins.. the texture may need some adjusting but what’s baking without trial and error?

I’ve never actually heard of a pistachio cupcake or muffin, but it seemed like a great idea- per the request of our guests. Since I’m obvi not the queen of whippin up cupcake recipes, I went to the world wide web to see what was up. Lots of recipes with artificially flavored pistachio pudding powder is what was up. I’m not really down with that so I fished around and combined about 3 recipes to create a half whole wheat flour, real butter, and real pistachio combo that was totally mixing-bowl-lick-worthy.

Baking it however, was another thing. Maybe it was in the oven for too long. Perhaps I didn’t cream the butter and cream cheese enough.. or maybe it just really did need some baking soda and/or baking powder. Or maybe these should have been muffins.

I’ll tell you though, the flavor was nice, real nice.

The frosting had just the right amount of sweetness to counterbalance the tang of the cream cheese.

Topped off with more pistachio crunch, these cupcake charms look share worthy but I’d label them as muffins. As much as I want them to be cupcakes, they’d are not good cupcakes. Though they are though pretty good muffins, ones I’d def want in cupcake form. Yeah..

I’ll get on that. Next cupcake recipe will be a fluffy as a cloud.

Any suggestions?

~l

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

pistachio petit four (aka pistachio cupcake slash muffin)

makes about 15 

10 Tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature

3 ounces cream cheese, room temperature

3/4 c. all purpose flour

3/4 c. whole wheat pastry flour

1 1/2 c. raw sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 large eggs

1 1/2 tsp sea salt

3/4 c. whole pistachios, ground

cream cheese frosting

10 ounces cream cheese, room temperature

1 c. powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

topping

1/4 c. whole pistachios, chopped

Begin by getting everything out of the fridge, because that room temperature thing ain’t no joke. Cream the butter and cream cheese together, about 2-3 minutes. Add in the sugar, in parts, then add the vanilla extract. Next, add the eggs, one at a time, being sure not to overwork the dough. Add in the sifted flours and salt, also in parts, about 1/2 c. at a time, also taking note to not overwork the dough, we’re making cupcakes, not bread. Maybe we need some baking soda and baking powder here?

Bake at 325 degrees for 20-30 minutes, I give such a range because perhaps I over cooked?

Prepare the frosting by hand blending everything together. Layer on as much as you want per cupcake. Sprinkle with pistachios!

I know this recipe needs some tweeking but it’s fun to try!

Enjoy! Believe me their very edible and maybe even better the next day!

