Tags

, ,

What has gotten into me?? After all these years of trying to transform my husband’s food habits, getting rid of soda, cutting out (most) chips, reducing portion size… and he done and went and made me like mayonnaise. Well sorta. And sorta is a lot for a used to be despiser of all things mayo.


I pretty much only eat mayo when I’m the one putting it in. Though I’d be totally down with homemade mayo, which in fact would probably be aioli because I’d fo sho add garlic to it, I just can’t get past smearing the bottled stuff on my sandwich. But aioli… now that’s something I can get used to.This aioli was a cinch to make and inspired by the how-long-have-these-been-in-the-back-corner-of-the-fridge sundried tomato bag. Have any need to use herbs? Start chopping, any herb aioli is pretty much amazing. I highly recommend the use of lemon, the citrus hue it adds to the background is outstanding and really makes the sauce that much more special.

To use, slather on sourdough bread.

  

Layer on chicken breast, fontina cheese, spring greens, and red onion.

  

Smoosh down with your hand.

Lightly butter each side… then panini and forget it! haha jk don’t forget it, it will burn.

But make sure to have high enough heat to get these panini marks. It’s quite important. Ya know for the look of things.

Can we get three cheers for panini’s?!? I swear you could put anything between two slabs of bread, throw it nicely place it into a panini press and viola! Magic. A perfectly crunchy crust with an equally delicious melt in your mouth interior gets an A in my book every time! Oh panini with homemade sundried tomato aioli, I love thee!

What about you? Ever swear you disliked a food only to change your mind?

~l

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

sundried tomato aioli

1/2 c. mayo

1 lemon, juiced

3 sundried tomatoes, finely diced

3 garlic cloves, finely minced

sprinkle salt and pepper

1. If dry, soak the sundried tomatoes in hot water for a few minutes. Then grind the tomatoes and garlic in a good processor until minced.

2. Toss everything else into the food processor and pulse until combined.

3. Refrigerate for up to a week.

Enjoy!

