Tags

, ,

Iceberg lettuce really brings me back. Back to a time when the word organic did not exist in my vocabulary, I knew nothing about calories, and ate four eggs with two slices of cheese and buttered toast for breakfast.

   ……….        

These days I’m a bit more knowledged about what I consume and pursue healthier options on a mealy basis… but I still love bacon.

That’s why, ladies and gentlemen, I bring you a wedge salad in the form of a romaine heart with a low-fat but flavor packed buttermilk blue cheese dressing. And of course, BACON!!!


There was some tomato in there too. For the color and all. 
But to be completely honest, it was the dressing that got me. Perhaps it was the slightly more expensive blue cheese I got from good ‘ol TJ’s (although not that expensive it’s from Trader Joe’s after all.)

Can I just take a moment to give it up for Trader Joe’s. I may go to 3, yes three, different food markets each weekend (Whole Foods, farmers market, Trader Joe’s – in that order) but it is worth it. And a lot of fun, may I add. Especially because I’m a lucky gal to have my man come with me on these outings, it makes for nice quality time, plus he’s always down to try something new and different. Like dragon fruit. Isn’t this fruit beautiful?? (not the best pic, but Google it if you are super curious)

Crazy yet totally unique. I like.

I also like blue cheese. Blue cheese in liquid form, sure!

This blue cheese was perfectly pungent but not overly so. I even got my I-will-never-eat-blue-cheese proclaiming husband to give it a try… and then another try… hehe perhaps he’s a convert?

So even if you aren’t totally on board with blue cheese, I’d give this a try, it’s loaded with flavor and not overly powerful in the slightest.

Oh yeah, it also goes great with spicy wings!!

~l

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

buttermilk blue cheese dressing

makes 1/2-3/4 cup

1 Tbsp mayo

1 Tbsp low-fat sour cream

2 Tbsp buttermilk

1/2 tsp rice wine vinegar

Juice from 1/2 lemon

1 clove garlic

1 1/2 ounces blue cheese (I used Blue Stilton)

1/8 tsp salt

freshly ground black pepper

1. Into the food processor everything goes. Pulse until combined.

Enjoy on anything and everything!

