Tags

, , , ,

Can I confess something?

I have never cooked an acorn squash before. Let’s be real, I don’t even know how many times I’ve eaten acorn squash before (hint: not that many.)

 

And why, may I ask, has no one smacked me upside my head for that? I ’bout did it myself. But I was too busy enjoying this outrageously lip-smacking-good roasted acorn squash, recipe courtesy of Martha Stewart, who else.

 

Seriously, who else can take about 5 ingredients and birth a creation with such splendor as this. Well, I’m sure that chick from the Food Network, 5-ingredient fix does it, but really, lets give some props to Martha. Girl, you rock!

 

If you’re into eating only one thing for dinner, this would serve as a spectacular main dish meal, and it’s vegetarian!

No need to wait till Monday to go Meatless.

We opted for chicken tonight, and since the oven was already rolling, I marinated some chicken breasts with some balsamic ‘n dijon mustard and tossed ’em in too. And then ate them before I could take a picture. Whoops.

So if you’re like me and don’t get enough acorn squash in your kitchen or if you are completely sane and eat this every day it’s in season, give this recipe a try.

I thanked Martha, and you will too!

Besides, it’s never to early to start collecting Thanksgiving recipes!

~l

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

balsamic roasted acorn squash with shallots slightly adapted from Martha Stewart

serves 3-4

1 acorn squash, about 2 lbs

6 shallots, whole and peeled

1 1/2 sprigs of fresh rosemary

1-2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

3/4 tsp sea salt

freshly ground black pepper

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Cut acorn squash in half, and then quarter the halves (so basically cut into eighths.
  2. Peel shallots, leaving them whole, or if slicing, leave root end in tact.
  3. Toss shallots and squash with remaining ingredients to coat. Evenly distribute into single layer on a baking sheet.
  4. Roast in oven for about 40 minutes, turning squash halfway through.
Enjoy!
